diamond roof

Area Students Receive Healthcare Scholarships

 Thirteen area students received the 2021 Evelene Brodstone Healthcare Scholarship this year. The
Evelene Brodstone scholarships are awarded to individuals who display great academic success, a drive and involvement in health care and a desire to further their education in the healthcare field. Five high school seniors from Nuckolls County were added to the growing number of students who have interest in coming back to the area as the next generation of healthcare providers and leaders. Avery Mazour and McKenzie Ostdiek from Lawrence-Nelson High School, Sierra Blackburn and Morgan Theis from Superior High School, and Brooklyn Kohmetscher from Blue Hill High School were selected as recipients. The additional eight recipients are past award winners who continue their educational journeys at post-secondary institutions.

This year also marked the second year of the Virginia Lewis Legacy Scholarship. Last year, Lacey Langer of Superior was the first annual recipient. Lawrence-Nelson senior, McKenzie Ostdiek, was selected as the 2021 scholarship recipient. Virginia was an employee at Brodstone for 46 years, working in numerous roles. In 2020, Virginia’s husband, Marvin, alongside their three children created a health care scholarship fund to honor her legacy as a nurse for individuals pursuing a career in the health care industry.

Brodstone Memorial Hospital Foundation, a non-profit organization, accepts financial gifts that enhance and expand programs and services provided at Brodstone Memorial Hospital. The scholarship fund is one way for a donor to monetarily give to the future of healthcare providers and leaders of Nuckolls County. For questions or to learn more about funds available contact Foundation Director, Heather Erickson at 402-207-1534.